is this allowed?

Pretty much anything.
Post Reply
islanderfan
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon May 14, 2001 10:56 pm

is this allowed?

Post by islanderfan » Sat Feb 25, 2012 10:05 am

g1105079888 Hey Greg, dunno if this is allowed, but can you as a site director or T.D, force a draw? I maybe wrong, but I see no other way either of us can win unless my opp. makes a huge blunder. :?: :?:

energy
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 1999 7:05 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: is this allowed?

Post by energy » Sat Feb 25, 2012 1:15 pm

islanderfan wrote:g1105079888 Hey Greg, dunno if this is allowed, but can you as a site director or T.D, force a draw? I maybe wrong, but I see no other way either of us can win unless my opp. makes a huge blunder. :?: :?:
Your opponent can win if *you* blunder as well. But when you both have done 13 more moves, you can demand the draw based on the 50-moves rule. (Unless one of those moves are you moving the pawn, or one of you take any of the remaining pieces, that is.)
Nils

--
Consider donating some computer time to science!
Read more here: http://folding.stanford.edu

islanderfan
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon May 14, 2001 10:56 pm

Re: is this allowed?

Post by islanderfan » Sat Feb 25, 2012 2:10 pm

I don't think the site reconizes the 50 move rule?

ecperreault
General Forum Grandmaster
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:41 pm

Re: is this allowed?

Post by ecperreault » Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:10 am

islanderfan, you ain't never lasted 50 moves in a game... Come to think of it, I don't know if I have either ! :P Well, shut my mouth... :?

energy
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 1999 7:05 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: is this allowed?

Post by energy » Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:10 am

islanderfan wrote:I don't think the site reconizes the 50 move rule?
Not automatically, no. But Greg is the arbiter here, and expect us to follow the laws and regulations of chess. If your opponent refuses your draw offer after move 50, I'm sure Greg is capable of correcting the "mistake"... :twisted:
Nils

--
Consider donating some computer time to science!
Read more here: http://folding.stanford.edu

islanderfan
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon May 14, 2001 10:56 pm

Re: is this allowed?

Post by islanderfan » Sun Feb 26, 2012 5:22 pm

or call the Norwegian Mafia!!!!

energy
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 1999 7:05 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: is this allowed?

Post by energy » Mon Feb 27, 2012 2:46 pm

islanderfan wrote:or call the Norwegian Mafia!!!!
You wouldn't have been watching "Lillyhammer" now, would you? :lol:
Nils

--
Consider donating some computer time to science!
Read more here: http://folding.stanford.edu

islanderfan
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon May 14, 2001 10:56 pm

Re: is this allowed?

Post by islanderfan » Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:33 pm

can't say... you know people lol!

ecperreault
General Forum Grandmaster
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:41 pm

Re: is this allowed?

Post by ecperreault » Mon Feb 27, 2012 4:17 pm

islanderfan, I can't believe you spelled 'Norwegian' correctly. Gold Star for you !!!

islanderfan
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon May 14, 2001 10:56 pm

Re: is this allowed?

Post by islanderfan » Mon Feb 27, 2012 4:27 pm

surprised your Army brain knew that Norway is a country.

ecperreault
General Forum Grandmaster
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:41 pm

Re: is this allowed?

Post by ecperreault » Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:22 pm

... it is ???
Hey I noticed that you and DavidSWhite were tied in the Yearly Tournament !!! I am speechless...

islanderfan
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon May 14, 2001 10:56 pm

Re: is this allowed?

Post by islanderfan » Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 pm

shoot not for long

ecperreault
General Forum Grandmaster
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:41 pm

Re: is this allowed?

Post by ecperreault » Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:23 pm

LOL, I know the feeling. He is mauling me in our 2 games.

islanderfan
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon May 14, 2001 10:56 pm

Re: is this allowed?

Post by islanderfan » Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:00 am

And now it's a mute point, he offered the draw

gmiller
Site Admin
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 1999 11:13 am
Location: Jeffersonville, IN
Contact:

Re: is this allowed?

Post by gmiller » Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:58 pm

Just now seeing this post. The system doesn't automatically recognize the 50 move rule, you'd have to ask for it by posting the forum or by e-mail.

If it were Rook vs Bishop I could declare it a draw upon request by one of the players (assuming no immediate fork/skewer). For this one, I think the most appropriate ruling would be to let it play out, since I've seen plenty of players mess up in even easier positions. Usually players will accept a draw rather than waste their time playing it out, like what happened here.
Greg Miller

islanderfan
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon May 14, 2001 10:56 pm

Re: is this allowed?

Post by islanderfan » Wed Mar 07, 2012 10:29 am

Greg are you going to join the zapper?

gmiller
Site Admin
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 1999 11:13 am
Location: Jeffersonville, IN
Contact:

Re: is this allowed?

Post by gmiller » Tue Mar 13, 2012 3:16 pm

I wasn't planning to, I've got too many games going as it is.
Greg Miller

Post Reply